BC Friendship Centres membership elects new board of directors

Wednesday, July 11th, 2018 11:44am


Image Caption

Dr. Sharon McIvor

Dr. Sharon McIvor, well-known human rights activist and member of the Famous Six, a group of Indigenous women working for equality under Canadian law for Indigenous women, has been elected as president of the BC Association of Aboriginal Friendship Centre board of directors.

At the 2018 annual general assembly, the BCAAFC membership also elected Joanne Mills of the Fraser Region Aboriginal Centre, Surrey as vice-president.

Rounding out the directors are Calvin Albright of Kermode Friendship Centre, Terrace, who will serve as Secretary, Victor Tom of Kamloops Aboriginal Friendship Society (treasurer), Shyla Elgie of Prince George is the youth representative.

Mathew Baran represents Ooknakane Friendship Centre, Penticton, Richard Samuel of Port Alberni Friendship Centre, Keri Hutchison, Victoria Native Friendship Centre, Fabian Alexis, North Okanagan Friendship Centre, Vernon, Debbie Williams, Hii ye yu Lelum Society House of Friendship, Duncan, Elijah Mack, Conayt Friendship Society, Merritt

The newly-elected board of directors extends their appreciation and gratitude to the previous board for their commitment and dedication, reads a press statement “and raises their hands in the Coast Salish way in high respect of the previous president, Annette Morgan, Dze L’ Kant Friendship Centre, for her commitment and leadership over the past seven years.

Related: http://www.windspeaker.com/news/windspeaker-news/famous-six-to-be-celebrated-for-work-on-61a-all-the-way/